Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Astrid DeSouza, BSc, MHSc, PhD (candidate)

  • Program of study: PhD  - Community, Public and Population HealthAstrid DeSouza
  • Institution: Ontario Tech University 
  • Project title: Exploring pain-related and mental health-related disabilities among Indigenous populations.
  • Project background: Statistics Canada states that 63% of individuals who live with a mental health-related disability also have a pain-related disability. Although disability has been studied in Canadian populations, far less research exists regarding the relationship between disability types among Indigenous populations in Canada. This study seeks to understand the factors associated with pain-related and mental health-related disabilities among Indigenous populations in Canada.  
  • Project objectives: To understand the experiences and factors associated with pain-related and mental health-related disabilities among Indigenous Peoples.
  • Supervisor:
    • Pierre Côté DC, PhD (Ontario Tech University)
  • Committee Members:
    • Amanda J. Sheppard, MSc, PhD (Indigenous Cancer Care Unit, University of Toronto)
    • Krystle Martin PhD (Ontario Shores)
    • Carol Cancelliere DC, PhD (Ontario Tech University)
    • Sheilah Hogg-Johnson MMath, PhD (Canadian Memorial Chiropractic College)